General Data Protection Regulation

 

GDPR

The EU’s new data protection regulation, known as the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation), can impact your organisation significantly in the way it is handling personal data. Your organisation will not only be responsible for ensuring compliance with the regulation in terms of handling and protecting personal data, it could even be penalised for non-compliance and it will be liable for any damage resulting from data breaches. The General Data Protection wants to harmonise the data protection regulations throughout the EU and to strengthen and unify data protection. It addresses personal data security for EU citizens and individuals within the EU, but regulates also export of personal data outside the EU. The Commission’s primary objectives of the GDPR are to give citizens back the control of their personal data and to simplify the regulatory environment for international business by unifying the regulation within the EU.

The regulation was adopted on the 27th of April 2016. It enters into application on the 25th of May 2018 after a two year transition period and will replace the current data protection directive 95/46/EC from 1995. Unlike a directive, it does not require any enabling legislation to be passed by governments.

 
Concerns

 

  • Legal & Regulatory roles and obligations

  • Awareness (value, costs, risks, compliance, architecture)

  • Maturity and vision

  • Impact on business model

 GDPR regulation

 
Challenges 
 

The GDPR will supersede all current national data protection laws in the EU. Here is an overview of the main expected changes that organisations will have to be aware of and adapt to:

Expanded territorial reach

The GDPR applies to organisations and their subcontractors outside the EU. This means in practice that a company outside the EU, that is targeting consumers in the EU, will be subject to the GDPR.

Accountability and Privacy by Design

The GDPR makes organisations fully accountable for demonstrating compliance. This includes requiring them to document compliance, conduct data protection impact assessments for risky data processing and implement data protection by design and by default in their operational processes.

Consent

A data subject’s consent to processing his or her personal data must be given freely, and for sensitive data explicitly, either by a statement or a clear affirmative action stating agreement to the processing. Consent can be withdrawn at any moment. The organisation is required to be able to demonstrate that consent was given.

Data Breach Notification

Organisations must notify data breaches to the Data Privacy Authority. This must be done without delay and, where feasible, within 72 hours of awareness. A substantiated justification must be provided if this timeframe is not met. The organisation must notify the affected data subjects without delay when their data has been compromised.

Role of subcontractors

One of the key changes in the GDPR is that subcontractors have direct obligations. This includes implementing technical and organisational measures and notifying your organisation without delay of data breaches.

Sanctions

The GDPR establishes penalties for breach imposing fines for infringements of up to 4% of annual worldwide turnover on data breach and up to 2% of annual worldwide turnover on non-compliance.

Data Protection Officer (DPO)

In specific circumstances organisations or subcontractors must designate a Data Protection Officer. The DPO will need sufficient expert knowledge. The DPO may be employed or under a service contract.

Right to be forgotten

Individuals can require their personal data to be erased without undue delay by the organisation. A good example is where they withdraw consent and no other legal ground for processing applies.

 
 

9 Steps to get started with GDPR

 

GDPR 9 steps guide

Discover our 9 Steps Guide

  

How NRB can help you

 

  • Advisory services: NRB can assist in Roadmap and data protection strategic development through consulting or through staff provisioning at different levels. Our team of experienced consultants provides services from technical data automation to C-level advisory to ensure continuity and single accountability.

  • DPO resources: many organisations do not have the required resources or competences to staff a Data Protection Officer. NRB provides individuals with the required competences and certifications to assist organizations in their GDPR compliance track in a DPO, CISO (Chief Information Security Officer) or other role, in project mode or in operational mode. The consultant can ensure all DPO responsibilities and can assist the organisation on a broader security context in a dedicated, shared, full- or part time mode. If required, NRB can accompany the DPO with legal assistance through a recognised law firm to ensure legal advice.

  • Awareness campaigns: are key to success towards GDPR compliance. NRB does not only provide awareness sessions concerning the GDPR requirements, but extends awareness programs with practical sessions looking into the impact on business processes and daily operations. In addition, awareness programs are focused towards acceptance of change with the objective to not only raise awareness about data privacy but also towards the necessity of the GDPR compliance program.

  • Program and project management: will be key throughout your entire data protection lifecycle. Whether you need a program manager to drive the compliance track on a high-level or you need a technical project lead to implement an automated solution, NRB provides resources with broad security competences, organisational and communication skills who are used to drive strategic change programs.

  • Risk assessment services: NRB is experienced in risk assessment services which can be performed either with a broad scope towards enterprise IT security risk either with a limited scope specifically towards data protection or GDPR compliance. A risk prioritisation and impact analysis provides your company with an excellent tool to decide on your future investments, strategy and roadmap

  • GDPR compliance assessment: is a focused way and a short track towards identification of compliance gaps and can be a tool where budget is limited and resources are scarce. NRB executes a Quick GDPR compliance assessment to identify the areas where an organisation is not compliant. A high-level prioritisation can be defined in order to develop a compliance roadmap.

  • Automated data classification and protection: a critical step towards GDPR compliance is the identification and classification of data. NRB provides leadership and expertise in data classification through a combination of manual and automated methods to ensure a full coverage. Data Classification is a highly interactive exercise in collaboration with the client stakeholders, which are significantly involved in the decision making process. NRB partners with different organisations such as Varonis, Microsoft and others, to automate data classification and data protection. Through automated classification and data protection NRB ensures reduced project- and implementation costs. By enforcing and delegating policies, operational data management costs can also be significantly reduced.

  • Staff provisionning: NRB can provision security staff at different levels

NRB services for GDPR 

 

 
Our Key Differentiators

 

NRB can rely on a rich pool of resources, covering a very broad range of security services from very technical competences to C-level advisors. Having a competent team of experts at its disposition is a major advantage that not many organisations can provide. NRB prefers to service you with the most ‘fit for purpose’ experts within a diverse project team to maximise the right expertise at the right level at the right time.

Our client base extends throughout all sectors on a national scale. We have worked with a broad spectrum of organisational cultures and maturity levels. This experience gives us an empathic touch which is crucial to succeed in implementing strategic change within an organisation. Our approach is well-structured and methodological, but flexible and adapted to your organisational needs, to your organisation’s capacity to change and to the objectives set by your management.

Since the acquisition of Trasys, late 2015, NRB has become the largest national IT service provider. Our relations with vendors and partners extend beyond national boundaries and provide an unmatched pool of expertise, product support and competences. NRB is de facto a services company and is product and vendor independent. With our service-approach backed-up by our partnerships we are able to provide you with an independent advice on automation solutions and we offer a vast range of product implementation services with our own people or through our partners.

 

 

 

Are you interested to participate to a round table with our consultants on the GDPR  ?

 

 

More information and registration

In us they trust...

Contact us :

  • Mail us
  • Phone us

Follow us :

  • Linked In
  • Twitter
  • Google +
  • Slideshare
  • Youtube
  • Flickr

Contact us

Liège

t. +32(0)4 249 72 11

Brussels

t. +32(0)2 286 57 11

Send us a message

Partnerships & certifications

  • SAP Partner
  • Microsoft Gold Partner Certificaton in Applcation Development
  • ISO:9001
  • ISO:27001

General Data Protection Regulation

 

GDPR

Le nouveau règlement européen sur la protection des données, également abrégé RGPD (Règlement général sur la protection des données), peut avoir une incidence considérable sur le traitement des données à caractère personnel réalisé par votre organisation. Il incombera non seulement à votre organisation de veiller à se conformer à ce règlement au niveau du traitement et de la protection des données à caractère personnel, mais elle pourrait également être pénalisée pour non-conformité et pour tout dommage découlant de violations de données. Le règlement général sur la protection des données vise à harmoniser les règlements de protection des données au sein de l’UE, ainsi qu’à renforcer et à uniformiser la protection des données. Ce règlement concerne la sécurité des données à caractère personnel pour les citoyens de l’UE et les individus au sein de l’UE, mais régule aussi l’exportation de données à caractère personnel en dehors de l’UE. Les objectifs primaires de la Commission à travers le RGPD consistent à rendre aux citoyens le contrôle de leurs données personnelles et à simplifier l’environnement réglementaire pour le commerce international en uniformisant les réglementations au sein de l’UE.

Le règlement a été adopté le 27 avril 2016. Il entrera en vigueur le 25 mai 2018, après une période de transition de deux ans. Il remplacera ainsi la directive actuelle 95/46/CE datant de 1995 relative à la protection des données. Contrairement à une directive, le règlement ne nécessite pas d’être transposé dans la législation nationale par les gouvernements.

 

 

Portée

 

  •          Rôles et obligations tant au niveau légal que réglementaire
  •          Conscientisation (valeur, coûts, risques, conformité, architecture)
  •          Maturité et vision
  •          Impact sur le business model

 

 GDPR regulation

 

 

Défis 
 

Le RGPD remplacera toutes les lois nationales actuelles relatives à la protection des données au sein de l’UE. Voici un relevé des principaux changements attendus dont les organisations devront tenir compte et auxquels elles devront s'adapter :

 

Élargissement de la portée territoriale

Le RGPD s'applique aux organisations et à leurs sous-traitants en dehors de l’UE. En pratique, cela implique qu’une entreprise hors de l’UE s'adressant à des consommateurs situés au sein de l’UE sera soumise au RGPD.

Responsabilité et vie privée dès la conception

Le RGPD rend les organisations entièrement responsables de prouver leur conformité au règlement. Elles devront donc documenter leur conformité, réaliser des évaluations d'impact de la protection des données pour les traitements de données risqués, et implémenter une protection des données dès la conception et par défaut dans leurs processus opérationnels.

Consentement

La personne à qui se rapportent les données devra fournir son consentement : librement pour le traitement de ses données à caractère personnel et explicitement pour les données sensibles, par une déclaration ou une action affirmative claire marquant son accord avec le traitement. Le consentement peut être retiré à tout moment. L’organisation doit être en mesure de prouver que le consentement a été donné.

Notification de violation de données

Les organisations doivent signaler les violations de données à l’autorité chargée de la protection des données sans délai et, dans la mesure du possible, dans les 72 heures à dater de la constatation. Une justification étayée doit être fournie en cas de non-respect du délai. L'organisation doit informer les personnes concernées du fait que leurs données ont été compromises.

Rôle des sous-traitants

Parmi les principaux changements introduits par le RGPD, citons les obligations directes incombant aux sous-traitants. Celles-ci comprennent l’implémentation de mesures techniques et organisationnelles, ainsi que la notification immédiate des violations de données par votre organisation.

Sanctions

Le RGPD prévoit des sanctions en cas de violations imposant des amendes pour les infractions au règlement pouvant s'élever à 4 % du chiffre d'affaires mondial annuel pour les violations de données et à 2 % du chiffre d'affaires mondial annuel pour la non-conformité.

Délégué à la protection des données (DPD)

Dans certaines circonstances spécifiques, les organisations ou sous-traitants doivent désigner un délégué à la protection des données. Le DPD devra disposer de connaissances approfondies suffisantes et pourra être engagé par l'organisation ou travailler sur la base d'un contrat de service.

Droit à l’oubli

Les individus peuvent demander la suppression immédiate de leurs données à caractère personnel par l'organisation. Par exemple, lorsqu’ils réfutent leur consentement et qu’il n’existe pas d'autre fondement juridique justifiant le traitement.

 
 

Commencer l'implémentation de RGPD en 9 étapes

 

GDPR 9 steps guide

Découvrez notre guide en 9 étapes

  

Comment NRB peut-il vous aider ? 

 

  • Services de conseil : NRB peut vous aider à mettre au point une feuille de route et un développement stratégique en matière de protection des données par le biais de services de consultance ou de la fourniture de personnel à différents niveaux. Notre équipe de consultants expérimentés fournit des services allant de l'automatisation technique de données à des conseils de niveau C en vue d'assurer la continuité et une responsabilité unique.

 

  • Ressources DPD : bon nombre d’organisations ne disposent pas des ressources ou compétences requises pour engager un délégué à la protection des données. NRB met à disposition des personnes disposant des compétences et certifications requises pour assister les organisations au cours de leur trajet de mise en conformité au RGPD en endossant la fonction de DPD, RSSI (responsable de la sécurité des systèmes d’information) ou autre, sur une base de projet ou opérationnelle. Le consultant peut assumer toutes les responsabilités incombant au DPD et assister l’organisation dans le cadre d’un contexte sécuritaire plus large sur une base dédiée ou partagée, à temps plein ou partiel. Au besoin, NRB peut accompagner le DPD en lui fournissant une assistance légale par le biais d’un cabinet d'avocats agréé remettant des avis juridiques.

 

  • Campagnes de conscientisation : elles constituent la clé du succès d'une mise en conformité au RGPD. NRB propose non seulement des séances de conscientisation relatives aux exigences du RGPD, mais aussi des sessions pratiques examinant l’impact sur les processus commerciaux et les opérations quotidiennes. En outre, les programmes de conscientisation se concentrent sur l'acceptation des changements dans le but non seulement d'augmenter la prise de conscience par rapport au caractère privé des données, mais également à la nécessité du programme de mise en conformité au RGPD.

 

  • Gestion de programmes et de projets : elle sera la clé tout au long de votre cycle de protection de données. Que vous ayez besoin d'un gestionnaire de programme pour améliorer le trajet de conformité ou d’un chef de projet technique pour implémenter une solution automatisée, NRB vous fournit des ressources possédant de vastes compétences en matière de sécurité, ainsi que des aptitudes organisationnelles et de communication utilisées pour diriger des programmes de changement stratégiques.

 

  • Services d'évaluation des risques : NRB dispose d'une expérience dans des services d'évaluation des risques pouvant être fournis aussi bien dans un cadre large pour les risques en matière de sécurité IT de l’entreprise que dans un cadre limité, en particulier pour la protection de données ou la mise en conformité au RGPD. Une priorisation des risques et une analyse d’impact fournissent à votre entreprise un excellent outil pour décider des futurs investissements, de la stratégie et de la feuille de route.

 

  • Évaluation de la conformité au RGPD : il s'agit d'une méthode ciblée et d’un trajet court visant à identifier les manquements en matière de conformité. Cela peut constituer un outil ne nécessitant qu’un budget limité et des ressources peu importantes. NRB exécute une évaluation rapide de la conformité au RGPD en vue d’identifier les domaines dans lesquels l’organisation n’est pas conforme au règlement. Une priorisation de haut niveau peut être définie, afin de développer une feuille de route de conformité.

 

  • Automatisation de la classification et de la protection des données : l’identification et la classification des données constituent une étape critique vers la mise en conformité au RGPD. NRB fournit un leadership et une expertise dans la classification de données par le biais de la combinaison de méthodes manuelles et automatisées pour assurer une couverture complète. La classification de données est un exercice hautement interactif, réalisé en collaboration avec les parties prenantes du client, fortement impliquées dans le processus décisionnel. NRB dispose de partenariats avec différentes organisations, telles que Varonis, Microsoft et d'autres, dans le but d'automatiser la classification et la protection de données. Par le biais d’une classification et d’une protection de données automatisée, NRB parvient à des coûts de projet et d’implémentation réduits. Il est aussi possible de réduire significativement les coûts de gestion opérationnelle de données en appliquant et déléguant des politiques.

 

  • Fourniture de personnel :  NRB peut fournir du personnel de sécurité à différents niveaux.

 

NRB services for GDPR 

 

 

Nos principaux atouts 

 

•   NRB s'appuie sur un riche ensemble de ressources, couvrant une très large variété de services de sécurité allant de compétences très techniques à des conseillers de niveau C. Disposer d’une équipe d'experts compétents constitue un avantage majeur que peu d'organisations peuvent offrir. NRB préfère mettre à votre service les experts les plus adaptés à vos besoins par le biais d'une équipe de projet diversifiée, afin de maximiser l’expertise pertinente au niveau ad hoc et au moment opportun.

 

•   Notre clientèle s'étend dans tous les secteurs à une échelle nationale. Nous avons déjà travaillé avec un large éventail de cultures organisationnelles et de niveaux de maturité. Cette expérience nous confère une touche d’empathie, cruciale pour réussir l'implémentation de changements stratégiques au sein d'une organisation. Notre approche est bien structurée et méthodique, tout en étant flexible et adaptée aux besoins de votre organisation, à sa capacité de changement et aux objectifs définis par votre management.

 

•   Depuis l’acquisition de Trasys, fin 2015, NRB est devenu le plus important fournisseur national de services IT. Nos relations avec nos vendeurs et partenaires s'étendent au-delà des frontières nationales et fournissent un panel inégalé d’expertise, de support produit et de compétences. NRB est de facto un prestataire de services, indépendant des produits et vendeurs. Notre approche en matière de services, soutenue par nos partenariats, nous permet de vous fournir des conseils indépendants en matière de solutions d'automatisation et d’offrir une large gamme de services d'implémentation de produits par le biais de nos propres collaborateurs ou via nos partenaires.

 

 

 

 

Ils nous font confiance...

Contact us :

  • Mail us
  • Phone us

Follow us :

  • Linked In
  • Twitter
  • Google +
  • Slideshare
  • Youtube
  • Flickr

Nous contacter ?

Service Desk

t. +32(0)4 249 77 77

Herstal

t. +32(0)4 249 72 11

Bruxelles

t. +32(0)2 286 57 11

Envoyer un message

Partenariats & Certifications

  • SAP Partner
  • Microsoft
  • ISO:9001
  • ISO:27001